A Domestic Violence/Battery Lawyer Ready to Fight for Client Freedom
Whether a person is guilty or not, if they have been accused of domestic violence they need to get in touch with an experienced domestic violence/battery lawyer immediately. A domestic violence charge is a serious offense. Even in the event an alleged victim does not wish to pursue charges, the District or City Attorney’s office can still pursue the primary aggressor. Many times, it is necessary to go to trial to get the charges cleared. Having a domestic violence lawyer represent you is key to achieving a favorable outcome.
In the state of Nevada domestic violence is charged whenever someone intentionally commits a battery against someone that is family, a spouse, a dating partner, a roommate, or a cohabitant. According to Nevada law, any unwanted touching, no matter how light, is considered battery.
Some Examples of What Can Constitute Battery in Nevada are
- Hitting (such as punching or slapping)
- Pushing or shoving
- Spilling or throwing something on a person
- Tugging on a person’s clothes
- Any indirect unlawful touching
Battery does not necessarily mean that someone is/was injured as a result of the unlawful touching. The accused can be convicted of battery even without any injuries resulting from the act. If substantial bodily harm occurred, or the batter was committed with a deadly weapon, the battery is considered a felony.
Hiring a Domestic Violence Lawyer Can Reduce or Dismiss Penalties
- Domestic Violence First Offense– A person could serve two days up to six months in jail, pay up to $1,000 fine, serve up to 200 hours of community service, and attend weekly counseling sessions for six months. This is contingent on the fact that there were no deadly weapons, strangulation, or substantial bodily harm was involved.
- Domestic Violence Second Offense– If convicted of a second offense within seven years, a person will serve ten days to six months in jail, pay up to $1,000, have mandatory community service, and mandatory counseling sessions for one year. The outcome of this depends on the fact that there were no deadly weapons, strangulation, or substantial bodily harm was involved.
- Domestic Violence Third Offense– If a person is accused of a third domestic violence charge within a 7-year timespan, they are looking at a felony charge which carries a punishment of a mandatory one to five years in prison and up to $10,000 in fines.
Possible Defenses for Domestic Violence:
- Accident Related Injury– If an injured person goes to the hospital and it looks suspicious, the medical personnel must fill out a police report. Accidents are not intentional acts of battery and therefore are a defense.
- Acting in Self Defense– In order for this to be a viable defense, a person must only use the appropriate force necessary to prevent against an immediate threat.
- False Allegations– During custody battles or disputes, one person can accuse the other of domestic violence. A domestic violence lawyer is highly recommended for this situation or anytime false accusations are levied against you.
- Self-Inflicted Injury– If a person has injured themselves but is accusing someone else, then sometimes an expert witness can be called in to testify how the wounds were self-inflicted.
Jesse Kalter has Gotten Successful Outcomes for More Than Domestic Violence/Battery
As a criminal defense lawyer, Jesse Kalter has obtained countless dismissals and not guilty verdicts for many of his clients through a deep understanding of the law and a tenacious pursuit of justice. His law firm has worked on all kinds of cases across multiple areas of the law. He is an experienced DUI attorney and records expungement lawyer. He is also available to provide representation with sexual assault and lewdness charges, fraud/theft crimes, and homicide and murder charges. He is available to serve Reno, Sparks, Carson City, Fallon, Fernley, Dayton, Yerington, Douglas County and all other Northern NV rural counties.
A Domestic Violence Lawyer Ready to Assist 24 Hours A Day
Contact Jesse Kalter Today for a Free Confidential Case Evaluation and Consultation
CLICK HERE to Contact Him Online or Call 775-331-3888
WHAT’S YOUR FREEDOM WORTH?®