Nevada has Strict DUI Penalties for Minors Under 21
DUI penalties for minors under 21 are harsher than for someone that is over 21. The consequences associated with this charge reach far beyond community service, fines, and possible jailtime. They could be suspended or expelled from school or forced to drop out of extra-curricular activities like football or cheerleading. Even college education or scholarships could be at stake, as many colleges perform background checks on students.
Almost every teenager enjoys a party or social event, but they need to make sure they do so responsibly. First thing, if someone is under 21 then they shouldn’t be drinking at all. Secondly, if they have consumed an alcoholic beverage then they should never drive a vehicle. Breaking these laws might seem convenient or even exciting when around friends, but if they get caught friends won’t be there to bail them out.
Blood Alcohol Content and the DUI Penalties for Minors under 21
The legal blood alcohol content (BAC) level for someone over the age of 21 is .08%. Anything over this limit and they will be arrested and may have their car impounded. The legal BAC limit for a minor under 21 is significantly less, at a .02%. If a minor is caught driving a car or operating a vehicle above this limit they will be arrested. They will have to bail out of jail and pay heavy fines to get the car out of impound. All misdemeanor DUI cases are tried in criminal court if the arrested person is over the age of 18. Any minors under 18 are tried in the juvenile court system. Likely felony DUIs will be tried in the criminal court regardless of age.
Penalties for Minors under 21
If someone is under the age of 18 and has been found guilty of a first-time DUI, the sentence includes educational classes on the dangers of DUIs, community service and/or fines, an order to avoid any further arrest or citations, and a likely suspended juvenile hall sentence that won’t be imposed if the minor completes the other sentencing terms. A unique penalty for a DUI for a minor is an evaluation to determine if they are dependent on alcohol or drugs (NRS 484C.350). This evaluation is paid for by the defendant.
If someone is over the age of 18, but under 21, and has been found guilty of a first-time DUI, the sentencing includes $400 – $1,000 in fines, DUI school, a MADD victim impact panel, an order to avoid any further arrests or citations, an ignition interlock device in their vehicle, and a possible jail sentence. They will have to get an alcohol evaluation for any DUI over a .02%.
For all DUI charges for persons under 21 who have a BAC of .02, but less than .08, their license will be suspended (NRS 483.462). A provisional license can be obtained after a required period, according to the Nevada state law NRS 483.464. A first time DUI offense can be sealed seven years after the completion of the sentencing.
The penalties for minors under 21 for their second offense are much harsher. Jail time or time in juvenile hall is very likely along with heavy fines and required classes. A third DUI is treated as a felony DUI. The sentencing is a mandatory one to six years in a Nevada state prison, fines ranging from $2,000 – $5,000, a three year driver’s license suspension, and they must attend a Victim Impact Panel, undergo an alcohol/ drug dependency evaluation, and have an interlock device installed in their car for up to three years after being released from prison. Also, a DUI causing death or substantial bodily harm is a felony and carries 2-20 years in prison (even if you are only 18 years old).
Jesse Kalter is an Experienced DUI Lawyer That Can Help Underage Minors Avoid a Criminal Record
Facing life-changing DUI charges before your life has even started is very scary. Your entire life will be dictated by your criminal record. It can affect your freedom, college career, scholarship possibilities, and your future job. If you, or someone you know, has been arrested for a DUI, you need the experienced help of a proven DUI lawyer. Jesse Kalter has had countless DUIs dismissed or reduced. He is available to serve the people of Reno, Sparks, Carson City, Fallon, Fernley, Dayton, Yerington, Douglas County, and all other Northern NV rural counties.
DUI Penalties for Minors Under 21 is a Serious Life Altering Crime
Contact Jesse Kalter Law Today for a Confidential Case Evaluation and Consultation
CLICK HERE to Contact Online or Call 775-331-3888
WHAT’S YOUR FREEDOM WORTH?®